top of page

What will graduate school be like? From the eyes of an undergraduate...

What will graduate school be like? ...the hardest thing you ever do, the worst time in your life, you will learn so much, so worth it, unbelievable if with the right people, your PI will make or break it, you will be depressed, you will love it! I have heard it all from people in graduate school and from those whom have graduated. It is hard to tell what it will really be like until I actually get there but I believe it will be amazing. I have worked so hard to get to where I am now and I will not let the negative views of other people influence my future decisions. Will it be hard? Of course it will be. Will it be unbearable, absolutely not! For me being in the lab and working on my experiments is not at all unbearable, it is truly amazing. To see my dreams unfolding in front of me is something I have dreamt of for years. Never did I think it would be so easy to transition into this world.

I have had the privilege to be an intern at Kansas University Medical for the last two summers. The experiences have been equally different but have given me a glimpse into what my life will be like for the next 5-7 years or so. I was unsure for a while if this was the right choice for me but after spending 40+ hours a week in a lab I can honestly say I know this is for me. I look forward to going into the lab and planning and executing my experiments on my own, which is a very different experience than going to chemistry lab in school. Conversations with my PI are natural and not uncomfortable, which is very important to me. Yes, I have a long way to go to get to where I am going but I am blessed to be on this journey with people that are understanding and above all supportive. So what will graduate school be like, amazing if you are with the right people! Hopefully, in a year I can write a post that explains just that =) So here is making the most of my opportunities at Kansas University Medical Center and my last semester as an undergraduate student.


bottom of page